In September of 1950, St. Louis School opened its doors to 102 students. Thus began a rich history of academic excellence and faith-based learning that continues today.
St. Louis School was created as a parish school by then-pastor Father Edelman. It originally was housed in the historic Hargous-Briggs House, famed as a refuge for runaway slaves on The Underground Railroad during the Civil War. This building continues to be a part of the school community and is known today as “The Manse.”
St. Louis School flourished under the guidance of the Sisters of Mercy. By 1954, enrollment had reached 250 students. It became evident that a new school and church were needed. The community rose with enthusiasm to the task of fundraising. Then-pastor Father John Reddington worked with architects to create a building design modeled after schools he had observed during his service in Italy during World War II. The school was to have a large piazza where students would have an open view of nature, emulating the Reggio Emilia educational philosophy.
In 1955, with a new school under construction, enrollment climbed to more than 300 students. On February 14, 1956, St. Louis School at 11 Rand Place was opened to students. The official dedication by Bishop James E. Kearney was held on May 5, 1956.
St. Louis School remained a parish school, with the parish responsible for operating costs until formation of the Monroe County Catholic Schools system in 1992. In September of 1993, St. Louis expanded the Early Childhood program to include a preschool program for 3- and 4-year-olds, reconfiguring the school as preschool through Grade 6.
In 2008, St. Louis School was recognized for its academic excellence by achieving accreditation from Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.
In September of 2011, St. Louis School once again reverted to a parish-operated school. Today, the rich history of St. Louis School continues in preparing students with the most rigorous academic standards.